Chakra Crystals and Their Meanings

Woman sitting in lotus asana and doing yoga meditation with spiritual accessories, candles and Buddha statue. Concept of physical and mental health, relax and well being

Before getting into the details of the crystals within the Chakra System, here is a brief history of the system itself. The Chakra System was discovered and passed down orally for generations before it was written down between 1500 and 500 BC. Because it was passed down orally for some many years there are a couple of variations in the different versions you may hear about how and when it started. But the main points of the story always stay true.

The Chakra system is used in yoga and meditation to help align the spirit, body, and mind. There are seven chakras that are aligned with your spine from the bottom to the top. A Chakra is a point or ball of energy that cannot be seen with the physical eye. Working towards understanding and mastering each Chakra is said to help align and bring peace to the body. Each chakra has a different meaning and purpose and each has a color and stones associated it. Starting at the bottom, listed below are the seven chakras and their stones.

Root Chakra:
The root chakra is the very bottom chakra, located at the bottom of the spine. The color for this chakra is red and the common stones are agate, black tourmaline, bloodstone, hematite, and tiger’s eye. The red chakra is the base of the chakras. It provides and represents the base of survival and trust.

7 chakras-02 copy

Sacral Chakra: The sacral chakra is orange and its common stones are carnelian, citrine, coral, and moonstone. This chakra represents emotions. The feelings of creativity, sexuality, and other feelings.

7 chakras-07 copy

Solar Plexus Chakra: The chakra directly above the last is the solar plexus chakra and the color is yellow. This chakra is a symbol of wisdom and power. It represents each person’s individuality and the impact they can make on the world. The common stones of this chakra are calcite, citrine, malachite, and topaz.

7 chakras-10 copy

Heart Chakra: As the name implies, this chakra is located at the heart and its color is green. The common stones are green calcite, green tourmaline, jade, and rose quartz. The reason that this chakra is green opposed to red is that it represents the heart become one with nature (green). The common symbols for this chakra are love and healing.

7 chakras-15 copy

Throat Chakra: The throat chakras’ color is blue and the common stones are aquamarine, lapis lazuli, and turquoise. The throat chakra is obviously located at the throat and it represents communication. This chakra focuses on expressing oneself and building self-confidence.

7 chakras-18 copy

Third Eye Chakra: This chakra is the most commonly mentioned chakra. Its color is indigo and the stones are amethyst, black obsidian, and purple fluorite. The third eye represents awareness and attentiveness. It is said that “opening” your third eye is a spiritual breakthrough and requires practice and skill in meditation.

7 chakras-23 copy

Crown Chakra: The last chakra is the crown chakra and it is located at the head. This chakra symbolizes spirituality and when mastered is said to open up new levels of consciousness. The color for this chakra is purple with its stones being amethyst, diamond quartz, and selenite.

7 chakras-26 copy

Comments are closed